Advent Week One: Shelter (Luke 21:25-26, 28)

By Rev. Angel L. Sullivan1stAdventlemur


This series of posts for Advent is based on the lectionary readings for each Sunday.

Luke 21:25-26, 28

 

A few weeks ago, I was listening to a man share his life story. He said, “I lost everything. I lost my job, home, my wife left me, and I have not seen my siblings in years. I have no children. I have nothing.” I could see in his eyes and hear in his speech that he was scared. His present life had much uncertainty, and that life was not the one that he had ever envisioned for himself.

Advent 1 pic 1Everything that was familiar to him was gone. As I listened to him, I thought about the passage in Luke 21:25-26 that tells us that we will have a sign of the coming age where our nations will be in anguish, people will faint from terror, and “the powers of the heavens will be shaken.” We have a here a foretelling that, as individuals and a collective body, all that we are familiar with will vanish. Our physical world that was set in place long before our existence will one day cease to exist.

When that day comes the Lord Advent 1 pic 2reminds us that he is near: “When these things begin to take place, stand up and lift up your heads, because your redemption is drawing near,” (Luke 21:28). We live in a physical world where our bodies and our minds cry out for comfort, but it is our spiritual beings that are of most value. When all is stripped away, all that we have left is our spiritual selves. When we are scared, in pain, our bodies and world decaying, it is an opportunity for our souls to embrace God on a deeper level. It may possibly be in that moment that we begin to have real certainty, because all that we have is in God. So, as the seasons change, as the oceans roar, and as the stars begin to fade be of good courage, because the Lord Jesus Christ is near.

 

AngelSullivan2013smRev. Angel L. Sullivan serves as national president of American Baptist Women’s Ministries and is Staff Chaplain at St. Joseph’s Hospital-Bay Care Health Systems, in Tampa, Florida.

One thought on “Advent Week One: Shelter (Luke 21:25-26, 28)

Leave your comment

